How many secretary of state are there?

List of Secretaries of State. This list includes the 47 current secretaries of state.

The Secretary of State, appointed by the President with the advice and consent of the Senate, is the President’s chief foreign affairs adviser. The Secretary carries out the President’s foreign policies through the State Department and the Foreign Service of the United States.

Furthermore, how many Secretary of States are there UK? These five secretaries of state remained constant thereafter until after the first world war.

People also ask, who were the last 5 secretaries of state?

Secretaries of State

  • Thomas Jefferson (1790–1793)
  • Edmund Jennings Randolph (1794–1795)
  • Timothy Pickering (1795–1800)
  • John Marshall (1800–1801)
  • James Madison (1801–1809)
  • Robert Smith (1809–1811)
  • James Monroe (1811–1814)
  • James Monroe (1815–1817)

Who has been the secretary of state?

Mike Pompeo

Who was the first secretary of state?

Thomas Jefferson

Who was Obama’s secretary of state?

Obama nominated Sen. John F. Kerry of Massachusetts as his Secretary of State. On January 29, 2013, John F. Kerry was confirmed by the Senate in a 94–3 vote to be Secretary of State. John Kerry took office on February 1, 2013.

How do you become chief of staff?

Here are broader responsibilities carried by a stellar chief of staff: Ensure the CEO is prioritizing the right things. Level up the executive team. Amplify and improve the CEO’s communication. Act as a stunt double. Do whatever needs to be done. Write a roadmap for your 18 months. Structure your time intentionally.

Who are the 15 cabinet members?

Contents 6.1 Secretary of State. 6.1.1 Rex Tillerson. 6.2 Secretary of the Treasury. 6.2.1 Steve Mnuchin. 6.3 Secretary of Defense. 6.3.1 Jim Mattis. 6.4 Attorney General. 6.4.1 Dana Boente and Sally Yates. 6.5 Secretary of the Interior. 6.6 Secretary of Agriculture. 6.7 Secretary of Commerce. 6.8 Secretary of Labor.

How much does the president make?

Donald Trump is the 45th and current president of the United States. He assumed office on January 20, 2017. President of the United States. President of the United States of America Constituting instrument Constitution of the United States Formation March 4, 1789 First holder George Washington Salary $400,000 annually

Who replaces Secretary of State?

On February 1, 2017, Rex Wayne Tillerson was sworn in as the 69th United States secretary of state. His term ended on March 13, 2018, when being fired by President Trump. Tillerson was then succeeded by former congressman and director of the CIA Mike Pompeo, on April 26, 2018.

What is the secretary?

A secretary is a person who is employed to do office work, such as typing letters, answering phone calls, and arranging meetings. The secretary of a company is the person who has the legal duty of keeping the company’s records.

How does the Department of State affect me?

The US Department of State functions as the diplomatic wing of the federal government, handling matters of foreign affairs with other nations and international bodies. The State Department’s primary job is to promote American foreign policy throughout the world.

Who was the youngest secretary of state?

President George W. Bush named her national security advisor in 2001; again, she was the youngest person ever to hold the position. After eight years in Washington, four as the 66th Secretary of State, Rice returned to Stanford as a professor of political science and a senior fellow at the Hoover Institution.

Who was the 2nd secretary of state?

List of Secretaries of State No. Secretary Took office — John Jay Acting September 15, 1789 1 Thomas Jefferson March 22, 1790 2 Edmund J. Randolph January 2, 1794 3 Timothy Pickering August 20, 1795

Has there ever been a female secretary of state?

Madeleine Albright. Madeleine Jana Korbel Albright (born Marie Jana Korbelová; May 15, 1937) is an American politician and diplomat. She is the first female United States Secretary of State in U.S. history, having served from 1997 to 2001 under President Bill Clinton.

Who becomes president if the president and vice president die?

If the President dies, resigns, or is removed from office, the Vice President becomes President for the rest of the term. If the Vice President is unable to serve, the next person in the line of succession acts as President.

Who was first vice president?

On April 21, 1789, John Adams, the first vice president of the United States, began his duties as president of the Senate.

How do you address a former secretary of state?

A former secretary of a U.S. Federal Department continues to be addressed as The Honorable. The rule is once an Honorable always and an Honorable. But, he or she is no longer Mr./Madam Secretary or Secretary (Name) since there will be a new holder of this only-one-person-at-a-time office.